CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Overturned call gives Miami inning-ending double play

Overturned call gives Miami inning-ending double play

ATLANTA -- Some fancy footwork by Garrett Jones worked in the Marlins' favor in a overturned call against the Braves in the sixth inning at Turner Field.

Miami manager Mike Redmond challenged a potential double play that was not initially called at first base by umpire Rob Drake.

More

On the play, Jason Heyward lined softly to shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria. Justin Upton, who was on first, broke toward second but quickly retreated back to first. Hechavarria threw to Jones, who was straddling the bag as Upton slid in head-first.

Jones was collecting his feet, and his right foot was off the bag, but his left foot was on the back of the base, away from Drake's view. The ruling on the field was safe.

But Redmond asked for a review, and after two minutes and 16 seconds, the call was overturned. The double play ended the inning.

Miami is 15-of-19 in replay challenges.

Joe Frisaro is a reporter for MLB.com. He writes a blog, called The Fish Pond. Follow him on Twitter @JoeFrisaro. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less